CUTE TEDDY BEAR SANDWICH BENTO: JAPANESE LUNCH DECORATION, HEALTHY LUNCH BENTOS FOR KIDS.

July 21, 2009 at 21:08 | Posted in Cute Food Photos | 1 Comment

† Name: Fuorukuna Asuri
† URL: www.flickr.com/people/37198067@N08/
† How were you introduced to the art of “cute cooking”?
Wow… I don’t know, really, haha! Probably through anime. I’ve always been interested in Japanese culture and the language, and I think it was another way for me to immerse myself as much as I could in the culture despite not being able to live in Japan and see things first hand. :] But now I’m passionate about bento-ing! What can I say? I fell in love with it! Haha~ <3
† What inspired your cute creation?
I draw my inspiration from many places, mostly from other bento-ing friends on Flickr. I don’t know what made me want to make a bear sandwich, but once I started it, it really came together! I think a bear is just something that’s fairly simple to make and that’s why I chose that X3 No real significance, sorry for the lack of glamour here! <33
† How did you make it?
Eto… I’m not sure how to explain considering I was absolutely winging it. Haha! Hmm… Well, to make this would be a lot simpler if you use a fairly large bear shaped cookie cutter, but when I made it I cut it from the bread myself just using a serrated knife (which is important, because such knives are best for cutting through the texture of bread.
When cutting the bread shape out (if you do it the way I did) have patience with it, go slow and try to be as precise as you can :] One thing I’ve learned is that cute cooking, Kyaraben especially, takes time and cannot be rushed! A good thing about learning this technique is that a lot of simple shapes can be made this way :3 Like, for example, a cat shape or a doggie could probably be made this same way (breads are so hard to work with though! D: I am beginning to prefer onigiri heehee). Also, remember to cut your bread shape out before you put in fillings (in this case, I used chicken salad).
I sort of cheated with the little bear’s face, though > w > I was so desperate for kyaraben that I used whatever I could find!! The eyes are two m&m’s and the mouth and nose are lettuce, which was a total pain to try to cut myself (see the picture’s description to hear some of my complaining on it XD). I recommend investing in face punches! (which I have yet to do D: )
As for everything else, it’s just a matter of filling the box with color and things that you like. In this case it worked out well and was super quick, to just throw some lettuce down under him and call it ‘a bear in the woods’ :] Often you have to work with what you have at the time.

† Any other comments or tips?
Heehee~ Cooking cute is very fun and doesn’t have to be incredibly hard. Making things easier by looking for cute cookie cutters (which you can use on almost anything! They’re wonderful~) and other items and just remember to pack what you like and arrange it cutely. No one always has time to make super cute kyaraben, but it’s just as lovely to open a box of cutely arranged food that’s colorful and fun!

Also, look around on the web for good sites to use and take a look at what other people are doing. There’s no shame in asking for help or trying to do what they did also. <3

– Check out healthy bento recipes from my book Cute Yummy Time, now available for pre-order here.
– To submit photos of cute food you found or made, click here.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. This is the most crucial way by which your handmade vegan chocolate cupcakes will not only look attractive and be perfectly suited for birthday
    parties and similar such celebrations. When you’re making use of your own teacups and saucers, be certain to set each cup next to a saucer that doesn’t complement it at all, and bring paper plates
    that are even more inadequate to each table setting.
    Cool in pan on a wire rack for 5 minutes before
    removing from pan.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

