VEGAN BENTO: ORGANIC HEALTHY INGREDIENTS, CUTE JAPANESE SCHOOL LUNCH.

March 2, 2009 at 20:06 | Posted in Cute Food Photos | Leave a comment

 

† Name: Jade
† URL: mumbot.etsy.com
† How were you introduced to the art of “cute cooking”? 
 I’ve been interested in “cute cooking” my whole life, but actually making bento boxes is something I wanted to do for a long time and hadn’t until I had a son to appreciate it with me. I love Japanese animation, film and culture, so I share the kid-friendly stuff that I also enjoy with my kid. 
† What inspired your cute creation?
 He LOVES Anpanman (the Japanese anime character), so I decided to use that for the base of the bento you chose. I love that the cartoon is also about food themed characters!
† How did you make it? 
As vegans, we don’t incorporate any food that is derived from animals, so the ingredients are all plant based. Anpanman’s face is a flat pita which was toasted w/earth balance butter, Roasted red pepper hummus cheeks; Red pepper nose. Seaweed eyes and mouth and also used to seperate from the hummus dip & sweet peppers. The lower tier of the bento is my “Rainbow Pastato Salad” which is made with vinegar, veganaise, fresh green, red, yellow and/or orange peppers, basil, parsley, salt, boiled potatoes and pasta noodles (corkscrew, ditalini and/or elbow style). The bento is also completely organic.

† Any other comments or tips? 
My tip would be to keep it simple and work up to getting fancier with it! I started out trying to do something really fancy and complicated and it got kind of outta hand.. I think the longer I do it, the better I will get at making the fancy stuff! Practice makes perfect! Don’t forget to have fun!!

 

To submit photos of cute food you found or made, click here. 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

